Dairy and gluten-free diet

 

 

 

 

TEXT:VIA NATURALE

 

Caseinis a protein found in dairy products. Lactoseis milk sugar.

 

If a product is lactose-free, it does not mean that this product is suitable for use on a casein-free diet. Casein-containing milk, sour milk, buttermilk, kefir, yogurt, butter, sour cream, heavy cream, curd, all milk-based cheeses, milk and skimmed milk powder, milk chocolate - all foods to which milk or any other milk product has been added. Whey is also milk protein, but it is different from casein and is allowed on a casein-free diet. You just have to be sure that the whey is pure whey (i.e. completely casein-free). In certain cases, goat's and sheep's milk and products made from them are tolerated. However, at the beginning of the casein-free regime, it is also wise to exclude them from the diet. After about a year or two, some may experiment with their consumption.

 

It is not easy to exclude milk and milk products from the menu, as they are present in many foods in a hidden form. Medicines and food supplements also contain milk ingredients. You should always read the composition of the product on the package. For example, homeopathic treatment is usually done with granules that contain lactose, it is also used in the wine industry. In the case of a casein-free diet, it is definitely recommended to exclude milk sugar, or lactose. Industrially prepared meat products (ham, sausages, pates, etc.) also often contain milk. You also have to give up most candies and other sweets, certainly milk chocolate. In the case of milk intolerance, beef and veal cannot be consumed due to cross-intolerance.

 

Milk can initially be replaced in foods and baked goods with coconut, rice, almond, millet and hemp milk. Later, you can also try nut and soy milk. In the case of gluten intolerance, when buying rice milk, make sure that the same company does not produce wheat milk. In such cases, gluten residues during production can also get into the rice milk.

 

Many soy products have appeared on the market in Estonia, which would be ideal substitutes for milk, but it is not recommended to use soy at the very beginning of the diet either. Due to its similarity to milk protein, cross-intolerance reactions to soy protein often occur. Soy contains bioactive proteins/peptides that increase the overall amount of peptides in the gut. If they are not broken down properly or if their amount is too high, they can prevent the breakdown of other food and endogenous peptides, because peptides are generally good inhibitors of peptidases. Consuming papaya enzyme, or peptidase, and special probiotics can help in this case.

Autistic people are advised to definitely avoid soy at the beginning of the diet because of its phenolic composition. it can take advantage of the liver's enzymes for detoxification. Soy contains a lot of copper, and in cases where there is an excess of copper in the body, soy should be avoided. Almond and nut milk should be consumed with caution. Almonds and nuts are one of the most common allergens, you could try them only half a year after starting the diet.

 

Avoid foods labeled with

  • Casein or caseinate;

  • Hydrolysates (casein, milk protein, whey);

  • Lactoalbumin;

  • Lactose and lactulose;

  • Skimmed milk powder;

  • Milk powder.

Be sure to monitor the composition of meat products, especially sausages. Many sausages contain dairy products and beef.

 

 

 

 

 

TEXT:VIA NATURALE

 

Glutenis a grain protein found naturally in wheat, barley and rye. Flours from gluten-free cereals (rice, millet and buckwheat) can also contain gluten if gluten-free and gluten-rich cereals are milled alternately with the same equipment.

 

Flour is guaranteed gluten-free only if the mill where it is ground produces only gluten-free cereal flours and no other cereals have grown inside the gluten-free cereal.

 

In addition to the above-mentioned rice, millet (various varieties of millet, teff and sorghum) and buckwheat, foreign grains such as amaranth and quinoa can also be considered gluten-free grains - flour, bread, macaroni, muesli, spaghetti and other grain products made from them do not contain gluten. Corn is considered gluten-free, but autistic people should definitely avoid it at the beginning of the diet, corn protein can also cause problems for them.

 

Almost all common cereal products contain gluten - muesli, cakes, breads, breads, cookies, pasta, lasagna plates, flour and flour-containing products, waffles, beer and kali from beverages, most packaged and canned soups, certain sauces, sausages, etc. meat products, desserts, waffle candies and ice creams, etc. There are also cereals containing gluten in ready-to-eat foods for babies. When on a gluten-free diet, use only those cereal products that are clearly written on the package that they are gluten-free. However, be aware that gluten-free products often contain corn. Flavorings can also contain wheat fillers. Not all raisins are gluten-free, a little flour is added to them so that they do not stick to the walls of the canisters. Gluten is also found in the glue of envelopes, from where it can enter the body by sticking the envelope with the tongue.

 

Celiac disease is a long-known problem, and therefore there are already tested gluten-free foods on sale in stores: breads, pastas, muesli, cookies, etc. snacks. Due to the scarcity of these products, it becomes necessary to learn how to cook. In other parts of the world, gluten-free baking books have been on sale for twenty years, there are a lot of recipes and recommendations on the Internet, some of them in Estonian. 

Additives found in almost all industrially produced foods can contain gluten. Always read the ingredients on the package to be absolutely sure that it does not contain gluten. Also pay attention to additives and auxiliary substances. There are many websites in foreign languages where you can get help and recipes, for example www.gfcfdiet.com provides a lot of useful information on this topic. If, for example, vegetable or vegetable protein (protein) is written on the package, it can be wheat protein, if it is not specified that it is corn, potato or rice protein. Maltodextrin and starch, as well as modified starch, can also be of wheat origin, except in cases where it is explicitly stated that it is maltodextrin from potatoes or some other fruit. Cassava starch, arrowroot and sago palm starch are also suitable, carrageenan can be used as a thickener. Always read the ingredients on baking powder as well. Be sure to buy gluten-free yeast.

The following additives also contain or may contain gluten:

  •  malt vinegar, malt or malt flavorings;

  •  vegetable gum(-resin) if not locust bean/carob or bean resin;

  • soy sauce - soy sauce can only be consumed if you can be absolutely sure that it does not contain wheat and that there is no intolerance to soy;

  • stabilizers;

  • flavorings;

  • emulsifiers;

  • herbs and spices

Intolerance to rice, buckwheat and/or millet may also occur. In such cases, it is necessary to exclude all cereals from the diet for three to six months and later try to use them again one by one. You could start with wild rice, then add quinoa, buckwheat, amaranth and millet. Each new grain must be introduced into the diet one by one to find out if the grain is suitable. Depending on the state of health, it can be understood within a few days, the symptoms of intolerance appear within about 72 hours after consuming the food.